The Statute of Limitations In Cases Involving Personal Injury

The Statute of Limitations for Washington Personal Injury Claims

There are laws in place that restrict the amount of time you have to file a claim. This “statute of limitations” begins ticking the day the accident occurs Therefore, it’s often necessary to begin building your case immediately. If you’ve been injured, you should consult an attorney as soon as possible. If you miss the window for filing your case, the opportunity is closed to you forever.

Washington State Personal Injury Statute of Limitations

In Washington, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is 3 years, with a 1 year limit for libel/slander. This information is found in Washington law under Title 4, Ch. 16, Secs. 4.16.080, 4.16.100

U.S. Personal Injury Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations for personal injury claims varies from 6 months to 6 years, depending on state laws. For a comprehensive list of timeframes for each state, visit: http://law.freeadvice.com/resources/personal_injury_statute_of_limitations.htm/

Personal Injury Lawyers in Olympia, Spokane, and Wenatchee

Personal injury claims must abide by federal and state and local laws, including tort laws and statute of limitations laws. Personal injury law is often considered a legal specialty and consulting with a qualified attorney to represent you in your case is recommended.

If you are hospitalized, and unable to seek out legal counsel on your own, you can request a consultation in your hospital room or in your home. Additionally, a close friend or family member can also seek legal counsel on your behalf while you are recovering from your injuries.

Observing the statute of limitations is one of the most important steps you can make in filing your claim. Consult a qualified legal professional for more detailed information about how the statute of limitations applies to your case.

IF YOU, OR A LOVED ONE, HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED IN AN ACCIDENT – CALL TODAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION!